1 source
Valuation $2.5 billion not stated for this round
The source identifies CDPQ and Sequoia Capital as leads of Bird’s earlier October Series D funding, not this $75 million extension. No valuation or headquarters city is stated for this round.
Published by hand (reuters.com): "Electric scooter startup Bird said on Monday it had raised an additional $75 million in its Series D funding round.": brand backfill refused-round retry: Reuters: Bird said it raised an additional $75 million in its Series D (a tranche after the Oct 2019 $275M)
1 source
The source provides a dateline but does not state Bird's headquarters.
Unlinked https://techcrunch.com/2018/06/28/bird-has-officially-raised-a-whopping-300m-as-the-scooter-wars-heat-up: brand backfill refused-round retry: the October 2019 $275M Series D reading merged into the June 2018 $300M row and overwrote it; the June 2018 page goes, to come back as its own round
Published by hand (prnewswire.com): "CDPQ and Sequoia Capital led the $275 million round as a result of Bird's shift from rapid and expensive growth to creating industry leading positive unit economics and building a sustainable business.": brand backfill refused-round retry: Bird's own release states the $275 million Series D
1 source
Index Ventures is excluded because the article describes it as having invested earlier; Upfront Ventures is included because it was adding to its existing investment as part of the new round.
Published by hand (ft.com): "Bird Rides has closed a $300m funding round led by Silicon Valley investors including Sequoia and Accel.": brand backfill refused-round retry: the FT states the $300m round led by Sequoia and Accel (TechCrunch reports the same day)
Valuation $1.7bn read as about $1.7bn before the funds raised (ft.com): "Bird’s equity fundraising values the Los Angeles-based company at about $1.7bn before the funds raised, according to people familiar with the terms.": brand backfill refused-round retry: the FT's figure is pre-money and from people familiar; keep its own words so it does not read as post-money
1 source
Published by hand (indexventures.com): "Bird, a last-mile electric vehicle sharing company, today announced it has raised $100 million in its Series B funding round.": brand backfill hand check: the page states the round (announced)
1 source
Published by hand (marketscreener.com): "Bird, a last-mile electric vehicle sharing company, today announced it has raised $15 million in its Series A funding round.": brand backfill hand check: the page states the round (announced)
| Round | Amount | Announced | Lead | Buzz |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series D [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $75M $350M to date | 2020-01-27 | not stated | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED · CORRECTED ] read against 1 source
Valuation $2.5 billion not stated for this round The source identifies CDPQ and Sequoia Capital as leads of Bird’s earlier October Series D funding, not this $75 million extension. No valuation or headquarters city is stated for this round. Published by hand (reuters.com): "Electric scooter startup Bird said on Monday it had raised an additional $75 million in its Series D funding round.": brand backfill refused-round retry: Reuters: Bird said it raised an additional $75 million in its Series D (a tranche after the Oct 2019 $275M) | ||||
| Series D [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $275M | 2019-10-03 | Sequoia Capital, CDPQ | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED · CORRECTED ] read against 1 source
The source provides a dateline but does not state Bird's headquarters. Unlinked https://techcrunch.com/2018/06/28/bird-has-officially-raised-a-whopping-300m-as-the-scooter-wars-heat-up: brand backfill refused-round retry: the October 2019 $275M Series D reading merged into the June 2018 $300M row and overwrote it; the June 2018 page goes, to come back as its own round Published by hand (prnewswire.com): "CDPQ and Sequoia Capital led the $275 million round as a result of Bird's shift from rapid and expensive growth to creating industry leading positive unit economics and building a sustainable business.": brand backfill refused-round retry: Bird's own release states the $275 million Series D [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: prnewswire.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]correctedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||
| Series C [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $300M at about $1.7bn before the funds raised valuation | 2018-06-28 | not stated | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED · CORRECTED ] read against 1 source
Index Ventures is excluded because the article describes it as having invested earlier; Upfront Ventures is included because it was adding to its existing investment as part of the new round. Published by hand (ft.com): "Bird Rides has closed a $300m funding round led by Silicon Valley investors including Sequoia and Accel.": brand backfill refused-round retry: the FT states the $300m round led by Sequoia and Accel (TechCrunch reports the same day) Valuation $1.7bn read as about $1.7bn before the funds raised (ft.com): "Bird’s equity fundraising values the Los Angeles-based company at about $1.7bn before the funds raised, according to people familiar with the terms.": brand backfill refused-round retry: the FT's figure is pre-money and from people familiar; keep its own words so it does not read as post-money [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: ft.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]correctedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||
| Series B [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $100M | 2018-03-09 | Valor Equity Partners, Index Ventures | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED ] read against 1 source Published by hand (indexventures.com): "Bird, a last-mile electric vehicle sharing company, today announced it has raised $100 million in its Series B funding round.": brand backfill hand check: the page states the round (announced) [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: indexventures.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]confirmedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||
| Series A [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $15M | 2018-02-13 | Craft Ventures | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED ] read against 1 source
Published by hand (marketscreener.com): "Bird, a last-mile electric vehicle sharing company, today announced it has raised $15 million in its Series A funding round.": brand backfill hand check: the page states the round (announced) [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: marketscreener.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]confirmedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||