Coursera offers online courses and professional certificates from top universities and companies for individuals, businesses, and institutions.
coursera.orgLinkedInMountain View, Calif.EdtechPublic company
1 source
Developing: it holds up against its sources so far, and firms up as more reporting lands.
The source gives only a nonspecific “nine-figure” amount, not an exact round amount. It describes Coursera as Mountain View-based but does not state a city and country or state together.; not on the page it cites, so not applied: date
1 source
Published by hand (blog.coursera.org): "Today, we’re happy to share that Coursera has raised an additional $103 million of investment in a Series E equity round.": brand backfill: the row's own page states the round
1 source
Valuation none read as around $800 million (techcrunch.com)
The article says Coursera was not disclosing its valuation; the approximately $800 million figure was confirmed by sources close to the company.
Published by hand (techcrunch.com): "As one mark of the trend, one of the leaders in this space, Coursera, is today announcing $64 million in a Series D round of funding.": brand backfill: the row's own page states the round
1 source
The announced amount is the first closing; the source says a second closing is expected to bring total funding to $60 million. GSV Asset Management and Learn Capital are named for that second closing.
Published by hand (techcrunch.com): "The fast-growing online education service Coursera today announced that it has raised a $49.5 million Series C funding round led by New Enterprise Associates.": brand backfill: the row's own page states the round
1 source
Published by hand (allthingsd.com): "Coursera has raised $43 million in Series B funding from GSV Capital, the investment arm of the World Bank, Laureate Education Inc., Learn Capital and Yuri Milner, as well as previous investors Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers and New Enterprise Associates.": brand backfill: the round's own page (company, lead investor or trade press) states it
1 source
No source labels the round or identifies a lead investor. The source describes Coursera as “Mountain View-based,” but does not state a city and country or state.
Published by hand (techcrunch.com): "the startup is today announcing that it has raised $16 million in venture funding from Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers (KPCB) and New Enterprise Associates (NEA).": brand backfill: the row's own page states the round
| Round | Amount | Announced | Lead | Buzz |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series D+ Series F round [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | n/a | 2020-07-17 | not stated | No recent discussion |
1 source [ DEVELOPING ] Developing: it holds up against its sources so far, and firms up as more reporting lands. read against 1 source The source gives only a nonspecific “nine-figure” amount, not an exact round amount. It describes Coursera as Mountain View-based but does not state a city and country or state together.; not on the page it cites, so not applied: date | ||||
| Series E [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $103M | 2019-04-25 | not stated | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED · CORRECTED ] read against 1 source Published by hand (blog.coursera.org): "Today, we’re happy to share that Coursera has raised an additional $103 million of investment in a Series E equity round.": brand backfill: the row's own page states the round [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: blog.coursera.org·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]correctedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||
| Series D [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $64M | 2017-06-07 | not stated | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED · CORRECTED ] read against 1 source Valuation none read as around $800 million (techcrunch.com) The article says Coursera was not disclosing its valuation; the approximately $800 million figure was confirmed by sources close to the company. Published by hand (techcrunch.com): "As one mark of the trend, one of the leaders in this space, Coursera, is today announcing $64 million in a Series D round of funding.": brand backfill: the row's own page states the round [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: techcrunch.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]correctedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||
| Series C [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $49.5M $60M to date | 2015-08-25 | New Enterprise Associates | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED ] read against 1 source The announced amount is the first closing; the source says a second closing is expected to bring total funding to $60 million. GSV Asset Management and Learn Capital are named for that second closing. Published by hand (techcrunch.com): "The fast-growing online education service Coursera today announced that it has raised a $49.5 million Series C funding round led by New Enterprise Associates.": brand backfill: the row's own page states the round [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: techcrunch.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]confirmedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||
| Series B [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $43M | 2013-07-10 | not stated | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED · CORRECTED ] read against 1 source Published by hand (allthingsd.com): "Coursera has raised $43 million in Series B funding from GSV Capital, the investment arm of the World Bank, Laureate Education Inc., Learn Capital and Yuri Milner, as well as previous investors Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers and New Enterprise Associates.": brand backfill: the round's own page (company, lead investor or trade press) states it [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: allthingsd.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]correctedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||
| Funding round [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $16M | 2012-04-18 | not stated | No recent discussion |
1 source [ VERIFIED · CORRECTED ] read against 1 source No source labels the round or identifies a lead investor. The source describes Coursera as “Mountain View-based,” but does not state a city and country or state. Published by hand (techcrunch.com): "the startup is today announcing that it has raised $16 million in venture funding from Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers (KPCB) and New Enterprise Associates (NEA).": brand backfill: the row's own page states the round [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: techcrunch.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]correctedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage | ||||