Every round on record, with the sources behind each and the investors on them.
A pay-as-you-go solar company
sunking.comLinkedInZambiaEnergyFounded 2007
1 source
Developing: it holds up against its sources so far, and firms up as more reporting lands.
General Atlantic’s BeyondNetZero and M&G Investments led the initial $260M Series D, not this extension. The article separately says $38M of the extension was additional primary investment.
Publication audit: $70M is includes secondary, not this round's money: "This extension includes $38M of additional primary investment." (https://www.finsmes.com/2022/12/sun-king-raises-additional-70m-expands-series-d-to-330m.html)
1 source
Developing: it holds up against its sources so far, and firms up as more reporting lands.
The source describes Sun King’s operations across Africa and Asia, but does not state a headquarters.
| Round | Amount | Announced | Lead | Buzz |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series D+ ext. Series D extension [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $70M incl. secondary | 2022-12-15 | LeapFrog Investments | No recent discussion |
1 source [ DEVELOPING ] Developing: it holds up against its sources so far, and firms up as more reporting lands. read against 1 source
General Atlantic’s BeyondNetZero and M&G Investments led the initial $260M Series D, not this extension. The article separately says $38M of the extension was additional primary investment. Publication audit: $70M is includes secondary, not this round's money: "This extension includes $38M of additional primary investment." (https://www.finsmes.com/2022/12/sun-king-raises-additional-70m-expands-series-d-to-330m.html) | ||||
Sun King designs, sells, installs and finances pay-as-you-go solar products for households, businesses and institutions with little or no reliable-grid electricity in Africa and Asia.
Checked against 10 sources on Sep 26
| Series D [ HISTORY ]: An earlier round, from the company's own announcement, found while researching the company. Checked like any round, but not new, so it stays out of the daily feed and alerts; a date range shows it. | $260M | 2022-08-15 | BeyondNetZero | No recent discussion |
1 source [ DEVELOPING ] Developing: it holds up against its sources so far, and firms up as more reporting lands. read against 1 source The source describes Sun King’s operations across Africa and Asia, but does not state a headquarters. [ BUILT WITH ]·[ SEARCH ]found by Firecrawl search·[ SCRAPE ]1 page read: sunking.com·[ JSON ]round read into a schema, with the sentence that states it·[ VERIFY ]confirmedchecked against 1 source·[ BRANDING ]logo and colour from the homepage·[ AGENT ]company research by the Firecrawl agent | ||||
| EARLIER ROUNDS FROM COMPANY RESEARCH · DEVELOPING | ||||
| Equity investment in Sun King's Zambia subsidiary | $5 million | 2026-09-23 | not stated | |
| Series B | $10 million | 2015-02-04 | Fidelity Growth Partners India | |
| Seed | $500,000 | undated | Prabha Sinha | |
Also named as backers in company research: Prabha Sinha, Bamboo Finance, Fidelity Growth Partners India, Deutsche Bank, Global Partnerships, Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC), Eight Roads Ventures, SunFunder, PG Impact Investments, responsAbility, General Atlantic, M&G Investments' Catalyst team